Agri-Pinoy: Government Agricultural Strategy for 2011-2016

Agrikulturang Pilipino (Agri-Pinoy) is the overall strategic framework for the agricultural services and programs of the national government for 2011-2016.

Photo Credit:

The four guiding principles of Agri-Pinoy are sustainable agriculture, food security and self-sufficiency, broad-based local partnerships, and support services form farm to table.

Eleven priority regions for implementation have been identified – Caraga, Cordillera Administrative Region, Regions IV-A, IV-B, V, VI, VII, IX, XI, and XII, and the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao. A major feature is Oplan Seeding Project to promote collaborative undertakings from organizations and institutions outside the government.

Among Agri-Pinoy’s priority thrusts are irrigation services, extension services, establishment of trading centers, organic agriculture, and public-private partnerships. The government is setting up trading centers nationwide with warehouses, cold storage, commercial areas, processing centers and post-harvest facilities.

Under the program, mitigation measures were carried out for the vegetable industry in Benguet during the frost in January, 2011. Nueva Vizcaya has emerged as the country’s second major “salad bowl.” It helped to restore and rehabilitate communal irrigation systems in Davao. The help of the Philippine Rice Research Institute (PRRI), in partnership with the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) and other plant breeding institutions, is being tapped to develop new and improved rice varieties adaptable to environment change and emerging pests and diseases.

Continue reading at Tempo

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *